Facebook announced the implementation of a new feature for Facebook users, which will allow you to transfer photos saved on Facebook servers onto the servers or another company. For starters, your photos can be automatically transferred onto Google Photos, and in the future Facebook will allow you to migrate your photos to other similar services, as part of the Data Transfer Project, an agreement Facebook and other companies have signed.
Data Transfer Project is an agreement between Facebook, Apple, Google, Microsoft and Twitter which is about the development of a common platform, or tool. This tool would facilitate fast and easy content transfer between platforms, being able to also move personal data from one service to another. In the first stage of this project, photos stored on your personal Facebook account can be automatically transferred to Google Photos and they can be later accessed by using a Google account.
This feature is currently available in beta in Ireland, and in the next few months the feature will be implemented in other regions. Actually Facebook says that the option to transfer photos to Google Photos will be globally available in the first half of 2020.
While this feature provides the illusion of personal data control, it also shares your personal data with other companies. Basically, Facebook does not fully delete your data once they were transferred. Google only gets a copy of them, and the original data will continue to exist on Facebook’s servers. To make sure Facebook no longer holds your personal data you will have to manually delete your Facebook account. The same applies to all services that will use the Data Transfer Project in the future.
One advantage for users is the fact that it will become very simple to populate the online presence on one platform by using the content of another, and this saves them for the user.
Besides Apple, Microsoft, Google and Twitter, Facebook encourages other companies to join the Data Transfer Project in the hope that this feature will be able to help in the future with the privacy issues users have identified and reported in the past.